Moments

20160717_221226

There are moments
So indescribable
Moments of darkness
And beauty
Maybe the contrast between the two makes them more apparent
Makes these moments, good and bad, touch our hearts more deeply
Like the wildfire burning uncontrolled which, in spite of the harsh flames and smoke, adds softened hues to the sunset
Beauty from ashes
I have been on this water every year of my life
Yet times I feel I’ve not been on this Inlet at all
The conditions are never exactly the same
I am never exactly the same
What’s that saying
No man ever steps into the same river twice, for it’s not the same river and he’s not the same man. *
There are moments when I feel I am living the truth of that statement
No matter our catch
No matter our price
No matter our bottom line
I am wealthy beyond measure
Because of these moments

*Heraclitus

5 thoughts on “Moments

Leave a Reply

