Tribute

20150104_140735

Dad used to say, “If I knew where I was going to die, I would never go there.” He died at home, in the house he built on the land he tended with a loving hand. We think of death as hard, harsh, evil, but sometimes there is a little poetry mixed with the heart wrenching horribleness.

When death is inevitable, I guess it is better to die in a place that brought joy. So I took her for one last stroll on the beach.

Maybe humans live longer than dogs because we have a limited capacity to experience joy. We are joyful on occasion. Dogs are euphoric a multitude of times throughout every day. They delight in every bowl of kibble, every return of their person, every after-poop zoomies, every walk and snuggle and car ride and blade of grass and bit of snow and toy and treat and their places on our beds and their places in our hearts. How happy would we be if we experienced life that way, maybe with the exception of the after-poop zoomies?

Loki adopted me eleven years ago. Her owner moved leaving two dogs behind. They were causing trouble in the neighborhood and her sister was dispatched in a manner common among dogs running loose in rural areas. Loki came close to the same fate. One of the neighbors told me he took her to the beach to shoot her and bury her, but when he looked in her eyes, he couldn’t do it. She has been my constant companion ever since.

Loki never suffered any significant illness in her eleven years. Arthritis hadn’t set in, she was not in need of any medications, and although her face grayed, her attitude did not. Then her appetite subtly waned. A battery of diagnostic tests failed to reveal any abnormalities, but Loki declined. The cancer was found during exploratory surgery, and although the intestinal mass was removed, Loki’s appetite never recovered. Chemotherapy failed to help. I was out of options for helping my little buddy. I knew what I had to do.

Loki showed a bit of excitement as we turned down the road to fish camp. We arrived in the evening, with the sun still shining across the water as it does in late June in Alaska. There was a slight breeze but the Inlet was flat calm. We got out of the truck and walked around a little, Loki sniffing out clues and surveying her domain, but with less than usual enthusiasm. Soon she was content to sit down and rest. I sat behind her, enveloping her with my limbs and my love as we gazed out across the water. Loki lay, head in my lap, while I nuzzled her and cried, whispering so softly into her fur that even the wind couldn’t hear. All those things she knew but I had to say anyway.

Without changing positions, I reached for her catheter. The moment I dreaded for eleven years had come. It was time to say goodbye. Loki died in my arms. It was peaceful and perfect and absolutely horrible. Is it better or worse that it came from my own loving hand? Maybe both. Some things in life are like that. The poetry and the pain.

The symmetry hit me days later. He took her to the beach wanting to end her life. I took her to the beach because I was unable to save it. I said goodbye to my once in a lifetime dog in a place we both loved, the kind of place where, if I knew I was going to die there, I’d go anyway. I hoped she felt the same.

20141206_121337

9 thoughts on “Tribute

  1. Hey Meezie, this is a beautiful tribute to a wonderful dog. I always enjoyed seeing her and giving her scratches and love. I can’t imagine how difficult this was for you and how much you must miss her. Your writing is beautiful and brings Cohoe to me while I am out of state desperately wishing to be back on the beach and water. My thoughts are with you and Loki.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I write this with tears streaming down my face. So beautifully written and heartfelt. The day I sometimes think of & wonder how I will make it through when the time comes for my precious big boy to move on to the paradise reserved for the truly good & ever loving. Thank you for putting into words what so many of us will go through & not be able to express so eloquently!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. This was a hard one to write and I wasn’t sure it was one to share, but a couple of friends encouraged me to post it. Glad you liked it. Sorry I made you cry.

      Like

  3. When they go to that place really good dogs go they carry us away with them in spirit and although it is like swallowing glass I would still fill my mouth. Some dogs make us remember the Garden. This was a pearl. Loki was honored. I am sorry for your parting. -Kat (Kimberly Lorentzen’s friend)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so glad you had her in your life; you are obviously the better for it. I’ve euthanized my own as well, and I’m conflicted every time. All in all I think it’s better for them that I do it, but probably worse for me. Tough either way. I’m sorry you lost her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

