Fisherman’s Bend

Another long-time fisherman in my community recently passed away.  Here’s a small tribute to the fishermen who have navigated round the bend and left us to carry on their legacy.

Fisherman’s Bend

They didn’t have to act tough because they truly were
The generation of fishermen that nothing could deter
In the days before outboards, they rowed across the sea
They taught us by example and left a legacy
Launching wooden dories into all kinds of weather
Between tides came mug ups, gathering together
Powered by coffee — Hills Brothers’ big red can
Perked strong on the stovetop for this java-fueled man
Fishing ’round the clock for weeks at a time
Their passion inspired me, their lives were sublime
From them I learned how to work and also to revere
The salmon that provide for us year after year
Many greats have passed round that final Fisherman’s Bend
I feel honored to have called them Dad, Uncle, or friend
They didn’t have to act tough because they truly were
The generation of fishermen that nothing could deter

5 thoughts on “Fisherman’s Bend

  1. Thank you for this poem. Lars Frostad was my father, and my heart is breaking. My stepmother Gene gave me you book as a gift last Christmas, and it brought back so many memories of my childhood in Alaska. My father was a good, hardworking man, and I miss him every minute of every day. He taught me the importance of hard work, of respect. He was not one to show his emotions (not to me, anyway), but I know he loved me. Thank you again for your writings. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am so sorry for your loss. I still miss Dad and Uncle, but feel like they are looking down on us every summer, shaking their heads when we do something foolish, but mostly smiling down like proud parents.

      I am grateful for the time I got to spend with Lars. The world has lost a great man.

      Like

Leave a Reply

